Onward! 2015
Sun 25 - Fri 30 October 2015 Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
co-located with SPLASH 2015
Thu 29 Oct 2015 16:42 - 17:06 at Grand Station 3-5 - Session the Third Chair(s): Lindsey Kuper

The actor model has been a model of choice for building reliable distributed systems. On one hand, it ensures that message-processing is serialized within each actor, preserving the familiar sequential programming model. On the other hand, programs written in the actor model are location-transparent. The model is sufficiently low-level to express arbitrary message protocols. Composing these protocols is the key to high-level abstractions. Unfortunately, it is difficult to reuse or compose message protocols with actors.

Reactive isolates, proposed in this paper, simplify protocol composition with first-class typed channels and event streams. We compare reactive isolates and the actor model on concrete programs. We identify obstacles for composition in the classic actor model, and show how to overcome them. We then show how to build reusable, composable distributed computing components in the new model.

Thu 29 Oct
Times are displayed in time zone: (GMT-04:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada) change

15:30 - 17:30: Onward! Papers - Session the Third at Grand Station 3-5
Chair(s): Lindsey KuperIntel Labs
onward2015-papers15:30 - 15:54
Shaon BarmanUC Berkeley, Rastislav BodikUniversity of Washington, USA, Satish ChandraSamsung Research America, Emina TorlakUniversity of Washington, Arka BhattacharyaUC Berkeley, David CullerUC Berkeley
onward2015-papers15:54 - 16:18
Sylvia GreweTU Darmstadt, Sebastian ErdwegTU Darmstadt, Germany, Pascal WittmannTU Darmstadt, Mira MeziniTU Darmstadt
Link to publication
onward2015-papers16:18 - 16:42
Ali AfroozehCentrum Wiskunde & Informatica, Anastasia IzmaylovaCentrum Wiskunde & Informatica
Link to publication DOI Pre-print Media Attached
onward2015-papers16:42 - 17:06
Aleksandar ProkopecEPFL, Martin OderskyEPFL, Switzerland
onward2015-papers17:06 - 17:30
Guillermo PolitoInria, St├ęphane DucasseINRIA, France, Noury BouraqadiMines Douai, Luc FabresseMines Douai